The Port of Tacoma commissioners have elected John McCarthy to serve as commission president and co-chair of The Northwest Seaport Alliance for 2020.

McCarthy, who was elected to the commission in November 2017, succeeds Clare Petrich as president. A former Pierce County District and Superior Court judge for more than 22 years, McCarthy previously served on the Port of Tacoma Commission from 1983 to 1992.

In addition to McCarthy, the 2020 Port of Tacoma Commission now includes:

  • Dick Marzano, vice president
  • Don Meyer, secretary
  • Deanna Keller, first assistant secretary
  • Kristin Ang, second assistant secretary

The Port commissioners serve four-year terms, and the positions rotate yearly.