Franklin Pierce School leader Frank Hewins, Ph.D., is the 2018 Superintendent of the Year for Washington state. He received the honor Saturday at a Bellevue meeting of Washington Association of School Administrators.

His central Pierce County district has experienced significant educational success closing the achievement gaps and producing an on-time graduation rate of 85.2 percent in a high-poverty, majority-minority community, exceeding the state and national averages for every single category of special populations and racial/cultural subgroups.

Dr. Hewins has been in education for 40 years, 30 of which have been in the Franklin Pierce district, including 11 years as superintendent.

Long-time South Sound architect Ron Thomas won the 2017 Charles T. Pearson Honor Award from Southwest Washington chapter, American Institute of Architects. His recognition comes from exemplary service to his community.

Thomas leads Thomas Architectural Studio (TAS) with its two downtown Olympia locations, which he founded in 2006 after practicing in Tacoma from 1991 to 2006.

TAS also received a Merit Award for its work on Campus Lofts, a multi-family housing project completed in 2016 and developed by Walker John. It is an adaptive reuse of a former office building into “campus-style” apartments and townhomes.