Thurston County Board of Commissioners on Friday afternoon voted 3-0 to appoint Jeff Gadman as Thurston County Treasurer. He will hold the position until the November election, when he must be elected by the voters to keep the seat. Shawn Myers vacated the Treasurer’s position in January after accepting the assistant state treasurer position.

Following a national search, The Evergreen State College has named Jennifer Drake, PhD, as its next academic vice president and provost. She will assume the position in July, after completing the academic year as dean of the Shaheen College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Indianapolis.

Dean Carrell is now foundation director for Pierce County Library System and Mary Getchell is the new marketing and communications director. Carrell most recently was VP of institutional advancement with LeMay – America’s Car Museum. Getchell was recently division director of communications with CHI Franciscan Health and has worked more than 20 years in marketing and communications.