In a move to reflect a broader County business community reach and more inclusivity, the Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber has renamed the former South County Division and University Place-Fircrest Division to South County Branch and West Side Branch, respectively.

Members of the formerly named “divisions” were thrilled with the change to “branches,” since it implies a connectedness with the Chamber and also breaks away from the divisive and distant feeling the term “division” invokes.

“Calling ourselves a 'branch' indicates we are part of the overall organization, Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber, but doesn’t exclude us from having our own identity that echoes our surrounding business communities,” said South County Branch Chair Jackie Smith.

“We have the same mission as the Chamber, with the added focus on serving businesses in the west side of the county, who have locations in the west side, or who do a lot of business in our area,” said West Side Branch Chair Rick Hoefel.

“It is a great, positive, progression for us,” said Tom Pierson, Tacoma-Pierce County Chamber president & CEO. “This shift will build excitement and momentum for our Branches, furthering their services to the respective communities.”

The South County Branch and West Side Branch have also adopted logos that retain the Chamber’s logo with the added branch name underneath.