Tacoma City Council is seeking to fill two positions on the Transportation Commission in Districts No. 3 and No. 4.

Commission members advise city council on transportation-related matters and serve a three-year term. Members may weigh in on topics like bike, pedestrian, and mass transit planning initiatives; parking and capital improvement plans; and compliance with local, regional, and federal transportation regulations.

The Transportation Commission consists of 11 members – nine voting members with representatives from the city’s five council districts and two non-voting members appointed by the city manager.

It is recommended that applicants have backgrounds or special interest in the one or more of the following sectors: professional engineering sector, construction/private business sector, bike and pedestrian/mass transit sector, planning/urban growth sector, environmental/sustainability sector, general community, and ADA community.

Commission meetings take place every third Wednesday at 5:30 p.m.

For more info on Transportation Commission, visit the commission website.

To determine your Council District, visit goveme.org.

Apply online here.